oatmeal cranberry granola

We’ve been on a yogurt kick for a while and I finally got fed up with buying overpriced, overly sweet granola from Whole Foods.  It turns out, granola is really easy to make – so easy in fact, that I’m kicking myself right now that I didn’t think to make it sooner.  Not to mention that when you make it from scratch you can add exactly what you like – in my case, dried cranberries, walnuts, and almonds, and keep out what you don’t – honey and coconut.

While this was baking my apartment smelled like oatmeal cranberry cookies which was pretty great.  I was a little disappointed that I hadn’t thought to make cookies until I tasted this stuff.  I ate mine with plain soy yogurt and a little pure vanilla extract mixed in.  This granola is on the sweater side so if you plan to add this to a sweetened yogurt I might dial back some of the brown sugar.

Oatmeal Cranberry Granola
adapted from Alton Brown

3 1/2 cups rolled oats*
1 cup chopped walnuts
1 cup chopped almonds
1/3 cup bran flakes
1/4 cup packed brown sugar
1/3 cup canola oil
1/4 cup agave syrup (or maple syrup)
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 1/4 cup dried cranberries

Pre-heat oven to 250 degrees.

Combine the oats, nuts, bran and brown sugar in a large bowl.  In a separate bowl combine the canola oil and agave syrup and whisk together.  Pour the liquid mixture onto the oat mixture and stir until the oats look coated.

Spread out onto two cookie sheets and bake for 1 hour and 15 minutes stirring the granola every 20 minutes or so to ensure even browning.  Let cool and transfer to a large bowl.  Add the cranberries and mix until evenly distributed.

*I used about 2 cups of rolled oats and 1 and 1/2 cups of quick cooking oats because that’s all I had on hand.  The granola came out great but I wouldn’t use any more than 1 and 1/2 cups of quick cooking oats in this recipe.

4 thoughts on “oatmeal cranberry granola

  1. Hi! Just stumbled on your blog from a comment over on APW, and just want to say: YAY for making your own granola! I just finished a batch of ours the day before yesterday- we’ve been making it every 2 weeks or so for about a year.
    I completely agree with knowing what goes into it- here in Australia we don’t have Wholefoods stores (recently, having visited the US, I do miss them), so you just buy overpriced granola from the supermarket, and it’s always super sweet and super oily! Yuck.
    We also add, for interests sake, a bunch of seeds as well- Pumpkin, sesame, sunflower, flax, and some chia (a little more obscure) to try and ‘bump up’ the nutritional content. Apart from the pumpkin, I don’t tend to notice that the others are in there.
    Anyway, I’ma go check out the rest of your blog now. 🙂 Have a good Thursday!

  2. Thanks for the kind comment! I bought sunflower seeds with the intention of putting them in the granola but accidentally bought the salted kind 😦

  3. I love granola, and use some every morning with a little yogurt to get my day off to a good start. I grow strawberries, gooseberries and raspberries, but hadn’t thought about using cranberries in granola.

    I know they have some at our local store, so I’ll have to give it a try.

    Penny

Leave a Reply

