dining room curtains

Can this be called a dining room?  I could never decide.  We have a galley kitchen and this little room (in our open floor-plan apartment) is right off it.  It seems strange to call it a kitchen table as it’s not technically in the kitchen.  Dining room table it is.

Please excuse the dark photo.  It’s hard to take a picture of white curtains on an incredibly sunny day.

So.  My tiny dining room needed curtains.  I had bought some white cotton eyelet about three years ago with the intention of making super simple curtains for this window.  THREE YEARS LATER, they are finally done!

Coincidentally, the day I decided to finally tackle this project I saw this post on design*sponge about sewing simple curtains.  Curtains are not terribly difficult but having this tutorial on my screen gave me a little more confidence so I recommend checking it out if you’re thinking of taking on a similar project.  I didn’t follow the instructions completely (my bottom hem is only about 3 inches) but it was helpful.

I’m really pleased with how they turned out!  I think I will have a hard time ever buying curtains again now that I know how easy they are to make.

I bought the rick-rack from a trim shop in the garment district.  Love the rick-rack.

One thought on “dining room curtains

  1. These curtains are delightful! You have such a lovely blog.. I’ve enjoyed looking through your past posts. The pear bread looks delish and you’ve made so many other yummy vegan treats!

    Regarding your question about my shoes: Yes they are vegan, and I bought them about 3 years ago from a cheap shop in England called Peacocks (www.peacocks.co.uk). They’re not very strong so I don’t wear them often as the straps are really weak 😦 I would have bought a few more pairs, but they were the last ones..

    It’s a nightmare finding vegan shoes. I tend to wear crocs most of the time (Lily and Alice styles) and in the summer I wear Ipanema flip flops (designed by Gisele Bundchen). They are the most comfortable sandals I’ve ever worn and they’re really affordable!

    Anyway, I hope that’s helpful! Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

