snowy day chickpea salad

I took a snow day on Friday because it looked like this outside my apartment:

Remembering a chickpea salad post I saw on a fun little blog I stumbled upon, I decided to make an “actual lunch” instead of our usual peanut and butter jelly sandwiches or leftovers we eat during the work week.  No real recipe here, just throw in what you like.  This is what I used:

1 can of chickpeas, drained and rinsed
1/2 a medium red onion, diced
1 stalk celery, chopped
2 T parsley minced
1/4 cup walnuts chopped
+ as much vegan mayo as it takes to get to the consistency you like!

Mash the chickpeas with a fork or a potato masher and mix everything else in.

I think for real snow-day-appreciation, you must eat soup.  I recently found a jarred tomato soup that didn’t contain cream and decided to give that a try.  I realize that making tomato soup is also pretty easy but my blender/food processor bit the dust  and I’m still trying to figure out what to replace it with.  RIP blender.

Unsurprisingly, it tasted a lot like a jarred marina sauce.  Not a bad marinara, just not exactly what I was looking for in a soup.  I added some soymilk to make it creamier and then some cornstarch to thicken it back up.  It worked pretty well.

We ate our sandwiches on toasted whole wheat bread with pickles (of course) and some baby spinach leaves.  Pretzels and a mug of tomato soup were a welcome accompaniment.

One thought on “snowy day chickpea salad

  1. Ah! I’m so glad you made it! It feels so nice to see someone else make something I have shared :] We just made this on Sunday night for this week’s lunches. I hope you enjoyed it with your variations! It’s a nice flexible, quick lunch. I’m also a huge fan of peanut butter, but it’s always nice to make something with a little more to it.

    Thanks for sharing my post. Take care :]

Leave a Reply

